Regional Power Rivalry and the Failure of the Arab Maghreb Union

    This report analyses the institution of the Arab Maghreb Union in North Africa, the reasons for its failure and what the future holds for it.

    This report looks at the conditions by which the Arab Maghreb Union was formed and what the five states of Algeria, Morocco, Tunisia, Libya and Mauritania hoped the institution would do for integration and unity in the Maghreb region following indepedence from the colonial powers of France and Italy. The report further analyses where the now dormant institution went wrong, what were the conditions that caused its failure and if there is any hope that the institution will ever be utilised in the future as crises and rivalries fragment the Maghreb region more than ever.

    Download the Report

    Latest Articles

    Related Articles